Spring Summer 2017 Series – Review – Strawberry Shower Gel – The Body Shop

Hello everyone! How is summer treating you? Temperatures are soaring here. Getting super hot real quick!
I know I haven’t posted in almost two months now, but I had exams for a month and was busy with some personal and family stuff till last week. I’m back now and promise to post regularly! Can’t wait to get back to posting all the time!

So today I decided to review a cult favourite product – the Strawberry Shower Gel from The Body Shop! I’ve almost used my bottle up so I thought this would be a perfect product to review under my Spring Summer series. I’ve got a few more shower gel reviews coming up under this series, so do keep an eye out for that as well. Was it worth the hype or was it just not worth it? Read on to know how this product worked out for me!

Basic Details

Product Name – Strawberry Shower Gel and Cream

Price – Rs. 450 for 250 ml (Price has fallen down to Rs.345 recently for the same quantity)

IMG_20170413_132750-01

 

Review

Packaging and other physical details –The product comes in a clear plastic bottle which has a flip top cap through which the gel can be squeezed out. The new packaging however has a black cap on the top with a less bulky looking packaging. I do like how the new packaging looks more but haven’t experienced it yet. I may just pick one up after this one’s done. The only issue I had with the old packaging was that the flip top was a little too tight and I almost always end up breaking a nail. So I have to use the edge of some object near me to open it.

Texture and Consistency – The gel itself is of a good consistency – slightly runny, which makes it easy to squeeze out of the bottle. It has good fluidity as well as hold to it which gives you a few seconds of time to squeeze it onto your loofah. The gel has the slightest tint of a reddish-pink colour which disappears almost immediately you start to lather it.

image

The product foams up quite well for a non-soapy formula. I use about 2-3 pea sized drops and that does the work for me. Even though it doesn’t foam up as much as other soap-based shower gels, it still is a tad bit drying. But since the skin on my body is extremely dry, that’s an issue I have with almost all products. So it’s not much of a concern to me as long as I make sure I moisturize well post shower.

Fragrance – The scent is not like that of authentic strawberries, but more like candied sweet strawberries, which I don’t mind. The scent can get pretty strong if you put more than a few drops onto your loofah, so those with sensitive noses beware! The smell lingers on your skin without any moisturizer for about 20-30 minutes, which was a let down for me. I’d love to have a subtle sweet smell lingering on me for a few hours at least! If you use an unscented moisturizer, the smell fades away in just about 10-15 minutes.

Pros –

  1. Great smell!
  2. Good quantity for the price
  3. Not very expensive
  4. Soap-free formula
  5. Works for various skin types – Oily, Combination, Normal, Dry

Cons –

  1. Smell doesn’t last for long
  2. Doesn’t lather as much as some other shower gels in the market
  3. Could dry out the skin of those with ultra dry skin

Overall Verdict –

I loved the shower gel! For the price you pay, you do get a lot of product, which would last about 2 months on average with regular usage.

My rating for The Body Shop Strawberry Shower Gel – 4.25/5

Would I buy the product again?

Maybe not. I love the smell, but I get bored of products quickly, so I’d love a little change every now and then. So I’d love to get a different variant since TBS has tonnes of different options to choose from! Which one would you recommend for me to try? Let me know in the comments below!

 

3 thoughts on “Spring Summer 2017 Series – Review – Strawberry Shower Gel – The Body Shop

Leave a Reply

