Juicy Chemistry Frankincense and Hemp Seed Acne Control Serum – Review

Hello everyone! Welcome back to my blog! 

Today I’m reviewing a serum which claims to help with acne. I’ve tried a few products for acne over the year and none of them have done what they claimed they would. So how did this serum fare for me? Is it my new holy grail or did it just leave me feeling blah about it? Read on to know! 

Basic Details – 

Product name – Juicy Chemistry Frankincense and Hemp Seed (Acne Control Serum) (Formerly called Stop the Spot Serum)

Price – Rs. 400

Ingredients – 

Grapeseed oil, Argan oil, Rosemary Essential oil, Frankincense Essential oil, Lavender Essential oil,Peppermint Essential oil, Clove Essential oil, Turmeric Essential oil, Neem Essential oil, Sandalwood Essential oil, Tea Tree Essential oil,Jasmine Essential oil, Hemp Seed oil. 

Claims – 

Jam-packed with acne fighting and skin healing ingredients like Jasmine, Tea tree, Neem, Clove and frankincense oil, this magical elixir targets infection at its root and also promotes skin rejuvenation. Spots begone! 

Usage –

Apply directly on the spots every night or massage a few drops on to skin if your skin is acne prone.

*Patch test recommended before use

 Review –

Packaging and other physical details – 

The oil comes in a dark tinted glass bottle with a dropper. The packaging is exactly the same as that of the Argan and Rose day serum, which I reviewed a few days back. I’ll give a link here post so you can read more about the packaging. 

 Link – Argan And Rose Day Serum

How the oil fared for me –

 The oil is dark yellow – gold in colour and I was at first apprehensive if this would leave me looking like I just put Turmeric on my face. But the colour doesn’t show up on the skin at all.

The oil definitely has a strong herbal smell to it. You can definitely smell the turmeric and the neem in this. The smell lingers on for about 5-10 minutes even after application. I personally don’t mind herbal and natural smells so it doesn’t bother me much. But if you’re someone with sensitivity to strong smells, you’d have to be careful.
On days when I have to go out, I use about 2 drops of this after I bathe and wash my face When I am going to stay at home, I use this generously on my face. I use around 3-4 drops of this mixed with about 3 drops of the Argan and Rose day serum. I don’t mind having oil on my face if I’m at home and since it’s going to fight my acne, I wouldn’t even bother thinking twice. 

Now, when you use about 3 drops, the oil seeps into your skin completely only after about 10-15 minutes, after which you can still feel a slight amount of oiliness, but nothing too major. This also disappears completely after around 30-40 minutes. I am dry skinned and the feeling did irritate me at first, but I got used to it. 

If you have oily skin, I would not recommend you to use this in day time. Use 2-3 drops at night before sleeping if you have acne issues!

I used the oil for four weeks continuously and have given my results at end of each week below :

Post week one of application (Twice a day) –

After around a week of application, I realised that my skin feels a lot less suffocated, if that makes sense to you. My skin has been going crazy off late and I feel like my skin hasn’t been able to breathe a lot, despite going makeup free for a month to calm it down. I started to feel like my skin has slowly begun to calm down. Although in a week, I didn’t notice any great differences, I did realise that the newer pimples has dried out in about 2-3 days and didn’t leave any scar behind. 

Post weeks two and three of application (Twice a day) – 

This is when I slowly started to see results. My skin hasn’t had any acne since 2 weeks and slowly my scars had begun to fade. The process has definitely been slow, but nothing can fade overnight. At the end of week three, my scars are faded to about 60% of what they were before, which is a good sign. 

Post final week of application (Twice a day) – 

My skin never felt better. My skin has slowly started clearing out. There’s still a long way to go to achieve the spotless face, but my scars have come down to 40-50% of what they were. I haven’t gotten any bad breakouts like usual and even if I get any new pimples, I use the oil and they dry out in 1-2 days. 

(Picture showing before and after application of one drop of oil )

I still have to use this for longer and regularly to get rid of all my scars. But so far, I haven’t found any better product. I wanted to try all natural remedies before I get on to using chemical alternatives like the LA Roche Posay Effaclar Duo+ or the Kiehls creams, etc since I’ve heard great stuff about them. But I wanted to give natural products a good shot before moving on to chemical products. Not that they are bad, but mother nature is always the best. πŸ™‚
Pros –

  1. 100% Natural
  2. Inexpensive
  3. Suitable for normal to dry skin
  4. Lasts a long time
  5. Works well for scars as well

Cons – 

  1. Can leave an oily residue
  2. Not suitable for those with oily skin
  3. Takes a long time to show effective results

Overall Verdict – 

Did it do all that it claims?

Yes!

Do I think it is worth the price? 

Definitely. It is a steal for the price. And moreover, you’d always find some kind of discounts online.

Should you buy it? 

If you have dry to normal skin, yes! If you have oily skin, you could try it for nighttimes only. If you’re sensitive to strong smells, no! 

Ratings – 

Packaging – 4.5/5

Claim Fulfilment – 4/5

Overall – 4/5 

Thank you for taking the time and reading my review. Don’t forget to follow me and to like and comment on the post. I’d really appreciate it. See you in my next post. Bye! πŸ’™

4 thoughts on “Juicy Chemistry Frankincense and Hemp Seed Acne Control Serum – Review

  1. Have been using this for almost 2 months now and I love this. I have oily skin and it is not at all bothering me. But Sadly this has not worked much on my acne. Will wait for a month more before my final verdict.

    Nice review post dear!!

    Like

    1. I thought that since this is really oily, it would not be great for oily skin. Good to know that it doesn’t bother you! πŸ™‚ I am not very sure if it’s doing more than I mentioned anymore now. I need to use it for a little more time as well and then I’ll update my review!

      Like

Leave a Reply

